Selected Works

Martin Lodge


Technical details about Martin Lodge’s music, along with scores and recordings, can be obtained from the Centre for New Zealand Music <>



Aër for orchestra


Hinterland for orchestra

Symphony ‘Flowers of the Sea’ for large orchestra

Winterlight for solo bassoon and small orchestra



Aequora tuta silent (all the sea was quiet) for viola, alto saxophone and live electronic effects

Divisions for wind quintet

Fanfare in C for three trumpets

Farewell (for David Farquhar) for two cellos

Feadòg mhòr oìche spèirghealaì (Flute of the clear and moonlit night) for alto flute and prerecorded sound

Hau for cello (or other bowed string instrument) and taonga puoro (traditional Maori instruments)

Mozart Brief-ly I and II for 2 clarinets, 2 bassett horns, SATB soloists

Nightwind, and Aria with Commentary for two cellos

Oìche Ghealaì (Moonlit Night) for throat singing, taonga puoro (traditional Maori instruments) and alto flute

Prelude and Passacaglia for Seven Brass septet for two trumpets, two horns, two trombones, tuba

Ritual for alto saxophone and viola

sub rosa for oboe and string quartet

Summer Music for violin, cello and piano

Toru for taonga puoro (traditional Maori instruments), clarinet and cello

Violin Sonata for violin and piano



Epitaph, in memoriam Douglas Lilburn for solo cello

Pacific Rock for solo viola

Pan Dreaming for solo flute

Pastorale for piano, also arranged for string quartet

Plenum for organ

Sonatina for solo flute



After Dürer multimedia work presented on DVD. Realised collaboratively by Martin Lodge and Daniel Belton

Voces naturae: I locus iste multimedia work for mixed instrumental ensemble with live electronics including diffusion into surround sound and live video mixing



Bright Fine Gold New Zealand folksong arranged for small orchestra